Historical Publication Reading List

Works on the History of Communication as a Discipline & NCA  

Cohen, Herman. The History of the Speech Communication Association: The Emergence of a Discipline, 1914-1945. Annandale, VA: Speech Communication Association, 1994.

Dailey, S.J., ed.The Future of Performance Studies: Visions and Revisions. Annandale, VA: National Communication Association, 1998.

Daniel, Jack L. Changing the Players and the Game: A Personal Account of the Speech Communication Black Caucus Origins. Annandale, VA: Speech Communication Association, 1995. Routledge, 2014.

Gehrke Pat J., & Keith, William M., A Century of Communication Studies: The Unfinished Conversation. Routledge, 2014.

Gillespie, Patti P., ed. Our Stories: Twentieth-Century Women Presidents of NCA. Washington, DC: National Communication Association, 2010.

O'Neill, James. "The National Association," Quarterly Journal of Public Speaking 1 (1915): 51-58.

Oliver, Robert T. The way it was-all the way” A Documentary Accounting. Annandale, VA: National Communication Association, 1997.

Phillips, Gerald M., & Wood, Julia T., eds. Speech Communication Essays to Commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the Speech Communication Association. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1990.

Reid, Loren. Speech Teacher: A Random Narrative. Annandale, VA: Speech Communication Association, 1990.

Work, William W., & Jeffery, Robert C., eds. The Past is Prologue: A 75th Anniversary History of Speech Communication Association. Annandale, VA: Speech Communication Association, 1990.

Biographical/Autobiographical Articles about NCA Presidents--from The Review of Communication 

James L. Applegate, 2001
Maud May Babcock, 1936
V. William (Bill) Balthrop, 2002
Jane Blankenship, 1978
John Waite Bowers, 1984
Arthur Bochner, 2008
James W. Chesebro, 1996
Frank E.X. Dance, 1982
Isa N. Engleberg, 2004
Patti P. Gillespie, 1986 & 1987
Dennis S. Gouran, 1991
Elise Hahn, 1958
Magdalene Kramer, 1947
Beverly Whitaker Long, 1985
Raymie E. McKerrow, 2000
Marie Hochmuth Nichols, 1969
Judy C. Pearson, 2003
Henrietta Prentiss, 1932
Sharon Ratliffe, 1995
J. Michael Sproule, 2007
Anita Taylor, 1981
Judith S. Trent, 1997
David Zarefsky, 1993