James L. Golden Outstanding Student Essay in Rhetoric Award

Awards: James L GoldenThis award was created as an essay competition to encourage and support student research. The essay should focus on the history, theory, or criticism of rhetoric. The award can be given to undergraduate or graduate students. The first award was given in 2002. A laureate group is recognized in addition to the overall winning essayist


2016 Samantha Grainger Shuba, Whitman College
2015 Kiah Bennett, University of Minnesota  
2014 Donovan Bisbee, University of Illinois  
2013      Hillary Palmer, University of Georgia 
2012 Tiara Foster, Syracuse University  
2011 Katie Irwin, University of Illinois 
2010 Elliot Heilman, Northwestern University  
2009 Jaclyn Howell, University of Kansas  
2008 Francesca Marie Smith, Stanford University 
2007 Theresa A. Donofrio, University of Maryland  
2006 Brandon Inabinet, Northwestern University 
2005 Mary Lynn Veden, University of Washington  
2004 Cindy Koenig, Northwestern University 
2003 Allison Gleghorn, Missouri State University  
2002 Joel McKim, Concordia University