Bernard J. Brommel Award for Outstanding Scholarship or Distinguished Service in Family Communication

Awards: Bernard J Brommel The purpose of the Brommel Award is to recognize an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the area of family communication. This contribution may include research published in scholarly publications or leadership in instructional areas. Scholarship is broadly defined to include the spectrum of scholarly writing found in articles published in any journal or by members publishing in major research journals sponsored by other associations or organizations, or in book or monograph form.



2016 Laura Stafford, Bowling Green State University
2015 Michelle Miller-Day, Chapman University 
2014 Lynn H. Turner, Marquette University & Richard West, Emerson College 
2013    Alan Sillars, University of Montana 
2012 Paul Schrodt, Texas Christian University 
2011 Tamara Afifi, University of California, Santa Barbara 
2010 Kory Floyd, Arizona State University  
2009 John Caughlin, University of Illinois  
2008 Steven R. Wilson, Purdue University  
2007 Leslie A. Baxter, University of Iowa  
2006 Dawn O. Braithwaite, University of Nebraska  
2005 Arthur P. Bochner, University of South Florida  
2004 Anita L. Vangelisti, University of Texas 
2003 Thomas J. Socha, Old Dominion University  
2002 Sandra Petronio, Arizona State University  
2001 Brant Burleson, Purdue University   
2000 Kathleen Galvin, Northwestern University  
1999 No award given
1998 John Monsma, Northern Arizona University 
1997 Mary Ann Fitzpatrick, University of Wisconsin